LEED and McCain Walls

The Benefits of McCain Walls
and LEED

Aluminum is particularly friendly to LEED certification due to its near infinite recyclability and high-index for the quality of life. McCain Walls are not only aluminum but reusable – furthering our viability as a legitimate, flexible, green product.

Learn more about LEED and how McCain Walls reusable modular walls help architects, general contractors, and owner partners with LEED efforts.

Where Does McCain Walls Fit In?

All possibly qualifying categories are guidelines and require the buy-in of architects, general contractors, and owner partners.

Construction and Demolition Waste Planning/Management- to reduce construction and demolition waste disposed of in landfills and incineration facilities by recovering, reusing, and recycling materials.
Long-Term Commitment- to encourage choices that will conserve resources and reduce environmental harm from materials manufacturing and transport for tenants’ relocation.
Interiors Life-Cycle Impact Reduction- to encourage adaptive reuse and optimize the environmental performance of products and materials.
Building Product Disclosure and Optimization- Material Ingredients- to encourage the use of products and materials for which life-cycle information is available and that have environmentally, economically, and socially preferable life-cycle impacts.
To reward project teams for selecting products for which the chemical ingredients in the product are inventoried using an accepted methodology and for selecting products verified to minimize the use and generation of harmful substances. To reward raw material manufacturers who produce products verified to have improved life-cycle impacts.
Low-Emitting Materials- to reduce concentrations of chemical contaminants that can damage air quality, human health, productivity, and the environment.
Construction Indoor Air Quality Management Plan- to promote the well-being of construction workers and building occupants by minimizing indoor air quality problems associated with construction and renovation.

LEED Categories

LEED v4 is organized to promote action in six key areas, known as credit categories:

  • Location and Transport
  • Sustainable Sites
  • Water Efficiency
  • Energy and Atmosphere
  • Materials and Resources
  • Indoor Environmental Quality

LEED Points

Under each of these credit categories are a collection of mandatory and optional strategies. Each prerequisite and credit has a stated “intent” and a set of requirements.

To achieve certification, projects must document compliance with all prerequisites and a sufficient number of credit requirements to amass 40 of the available 100 points in LEED. Higher levels of achievement are rewarded with higher levels of certification:

  • 40 points - LEED Certified
  • 50 points - LEED Silver
  • 60 points - LEED Gold
  • 80 points - LEED Platinum